The #TBRChallenge and Why I Love It

Every year, come January, people post their wrap-up of the year gone by, and their resolutions/targets/plans for the new year. Some people have fitness goals, some want to travel, few want to focus on self-actualization, and we, the readers, start on our reading challenges.

Until a few years ago, reading challenges were a big no-no for me. I read for pleasure, not to make a point or get bragging rights. Reading challenges ignited my latent competitiveness, adding pressure to a task that I loved. However, all my arguments against reading challenges failed when Blogchatter started their #TBRChallenge.

I have been a participant in the #TBRChallenge ever since it started in 2021, and this is one reading challenge that I really enjoy. Do you know why? Because this reading challenge is genuinely reader-driven,

The Blogchatter #TBRChallenge

So what does a reader need to do for the #TBRChallenge? It is pretty simple. At the time of registration, all one needs to do is set the target of books one plans to read in a year. Once you finish reading a book, upload it on your reading dashboard. A reader can check how they progressed by checking the pretty display with the cover of the books read in a year. For those with a slightly more competitive spirit, there is a community Readerboard where one can see the progress relative to the rest of the Blogchatter reading community. If you write a book review, you can upload that to the blog rolls. This will help your Readerboard rankings. But again, adding the review is the reader’s choice.

At the end of the year, if one achieves the reading target, one gets a badge and reward points. Talk about double rewards!


My #TBRChallenge Badge of 2023

One reason why I love the #TBRChallenge is that there is no pressure on the reader. One can read whatever they want at their own pace. The only criterion is to achieve the target one has set at the time of registration. Of course, for the over-competitive, a place at the top of the reader board matters too. Thus, like anything that Blogchatter does, the #TBRChallenge is not only fun, but it also brings the community closer.

For the past three years, I have managed to not only meet my reading target but exceed it a little as well. I have also managed to come within the top 30 of the Readerboard every year, which really gladdens the competitive side of my brain.

For the #TBRChallenge 2024, I have set a target of 30 books. I know it sounds modest, but it works out to more than two books in a month. With household chores and writing, I think this target will give me a great balance reading-wise. Moreover, I do end up reading at least a couple of books a year that are more than 500 pages and non-fiction books. These books take longer to finish, and by setting a target of 30, I want to focus more on the quality of books read than on the number. (And no, I will not mention that one reason for my low target is also that most of the time, I forget to update my books).

So, dear reader, tell me, are you participating in any reading challenge? If not, why don’t you give #TBRChallenge a try? I promise you will love it.

P.S. This year along with the #TBRChallenge, I am also participating in two other reading challenges, #ReadingWithMuffy organised by KohlEyedMe and #12Books12Reccos organised by Bohemian Bibliophile. I decided to participate in them to give direction to my reading (honestly, it has become very predictable), and to be inspired by the reading choices of the others. Thus, along with the #TBRChallenge, I am hoping to have a good year, reading-wise.


I’m participating in the #TBRChallenge by Blogchatter


I have three books on Amazon. Do check them out. “Xanadu: Three Souls Searching For Their Paradise”, “BITS And Pieces: A Collage Of My BITSian Memories & “Potpourri Of Drabble: A Collection Of 100 Micro-Tales


5 thoughts on “The #TBRChallenge and Why I Love It

  1. Perhaps you will consider reading my grandfather’s memoir that I finally managed to publish in December. You can check out the preview of Mud Houses and Brick Walls – Rebuilding Lives In Quetta and Nilokheri on Amazon.com or Amazon.in before you commit. It’s an easy read and tells an interesting tale, both personal and public.

    Plus we share a last name!

    Like

Leave a comment