BlogchatterA2Z(P) ~ Love On A Sunday Morning

It was past ten when Juhi sat down to dinner. Her sisters had disappeared with Jaswinder, no doubt to giggle about something. She was frankly too tired, and her legs were hurting. After more than three of hours of dancing and trying to fend off the questions from nosy aunties, she just wanted to eat her dinner in peace. 

She had just taken a mouthful of the pulao when a deep voice spoke from behind, “You dance very well.”

Startled, she sputtered, the rice falling on her tunic.

“I am so sorry! I didn’t mean to startle you,” said the voice as a masculine hand extended into her field of vision, holding out a napkin.

Taking the napkin, Juhi stood up hastily, trying to brush off the rice, as the man came to stand in front of her. Even though he was wearing a pathani suit like all the other men attending the function, there was a self-assured look around him that made him stand out. Tall, and his hair slicked back with gel, the man was a far cry from the men Juhi used to deal with in the tehsil.

“I am so sorry for startling you,” he repeated, his deep voice sending an unexpected thrill through Juhi.

Juhi gave a wry grin. “It is ok. Right now, I am feeling embarrassed for being so clumsy.”

“It is my fault. I should have let you have your dinner in peace,” he insisted.

“Maybe then you should be punished for your mistake,” Juhi teased, surprising herself with her forwardness. 

He replied with a mock bow. “Your punishment would be my honour.”

 “Your punishment is that you need to introduce yourself.”

“That is an easy one. I am Jagjit, Jaswinder’s cousin. And may I know the name of the houri who has deigned to speak with a nobody like me?”

Juhi giggled at his flattery, “I am Juhi, Jaswinder’s neighbour and friend.”

“If I had known Jaswinder had such a beautiful neighbour, I would have visited more often.”

Juhi blushed at the heat in Jagjit’s eyes as he said the words. But before she could retort or reply, Madhuri called from the doorway, “Didi ma is calling home, plus we have to come early tomorrow to help Jaswinder.”

Juhi looked at Jagjit, who looked back with an amused expression on his face. “Tomorrow cannot come soon enough,” he murmured.

Juhi just smiled and walked towards Madhuri, who waited for her at the door.

“Who was he?” Madhuri whispered.

“Jaswinder’s cousin, Jagjit,” replied Juhi.

“The NRI?”

Juhi replied with a nod.

Madhuri turned to look back and saw that Jagjit was standing at the same spot, his eyes fixed on Juhi’s back.


I am participating in #BlogchatterA2Z, and this is the post for the alphabet P.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


If you liked my post, then maybe you would be interested in checking out my books. You can find them on my Amazon author page.


8 thoughts on “BlogchatterA2Z(P) ~ Love On A Sunday Morning

Leave a comment