BlogchatterA2Z(W) ~ Love On A Sunday Morning

Madhuri stood on the terrace looking out at the fields behind as the sky lightened from pearly grey to orange. She had spent more than half the night walking on the terrace, unable to sleep.

She wondered why God had to be so unkind to take away both her parents. They had been so happy that morning, talking about how content Juhi was with Jagjit and Varsha’s final-year results. How Madhuri had taken advantage of their good mood to convince Jasmeet to go to the hospital for a check-up for headaches that were becoming more frequent. 

What if she had not insisted? 

They would not have been on that auto that was hit by a drunk bus driver. Their bodies would not have been found flung a hundred metres away, their hands clasped. She would not have become an orphan or live with the guilt that she was the one who had convinced them to go. 

“Chai?” said Jagjit, handing her the steel tumbler.

Madhuri looked at him, surprised. She had been so lost in her thoughts that she had not heard him come to the terrace. 

“Thank you,” she whispered, taking a sip of the hot beverage, hoping that the warmth would penetrate the cold that seemed to have frozen around her heart.

“Couldn’t sleep?” Jagjit asked, looking at the farm.

Madhuri shook her head.

“You can’t blame yourself for what happened. It was destiny,” Jagjit said.

“Destiny, that I would convince them to go to the doctor on that day?” Madhuri asked bitterly. “If they had stayed at home, they wouldn’t have been in the accident. I would still have parents.”

Jagjit sighed. “You will make yourself sick if you keep thinking like this.”

“Then what do I do? How do I make myself stop thinking about it?” Madhuri demanded.

“You need to think of your future,” Jagjit snapped back. 

Discomfited by her incredulous look at his brusque tone, Jagjit looked back at the farm. In a softer tone, he said, “I think you sisters should sell the farm and the house and move in with me and Juhi.”

“Sell the farm?” Madhuri asked, bewildered by Jagjit’s words. “How can we sell everything and move to a new country?”

“Juhi moved to a new country,” Jagjit pointed out.

“But it was because of marriage.”

“Yes, but she did, and now she is happy. You and Varsha are my family. I will take care of you there.”

“But you are travelling back next week. How will we be ready to fly with you? And how will we find a buyer so soon?” Madhuri said, unable to wrap her head around Jagjit, wanting them to sell the farm.

“I already have a person who is interested in buying the farm. As far as the formalities to fly with me are concerned, I will handle it all. You just concentrate on packing and thinking of how your future will be in a new country.”

*****

“You have taken the right decision,” said Juhi. Varsha and Madhuri called Juhi later in the day when Jagjit was out running errands. Madhuri had agreed to Jagjit’s suggestion of selling the farm, but she was still conflicted. She hoped talking to Juhi would clear her mind.

“You cannot maintain the farm. Baba never taught us the workings of the farm because he wanted us to be educated. We don’t know the nitty-gritty, nor how to deal with the labourers. Jagjit will sell the farm, and the money can be used for dowries for both of you. Plus, I need you both to be with me. The morning sickness is taking its toll, and the doctor has advised me to rest. I need your help.”

“But it is a new country. What will we do there?” Madhuri asked, her expression still worried.

“I am here to help you,” Juhi said. “I want you to come here and achieve all your dreams. No one will stop you.”

“You will let me do a computer course?” Varsha asked.

Juhi chuckled. “You do whatever you want to!” she promised.

Madhuri sat back with a sigh. The decision had been made. They would relocate to a new country. Then why, instead of being excited, did Madhuri feel a frisson of fear go up her spine?


I am participating in #BlogchatterA2Z, and this is the post for the alphabet W.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


If you liked my post, then maybe you would be interested in checking out my books. You can find them on my Amazon author page.


4 thoughts on “BlogchatterA2Z(W) ~ Love On A Sunday Morning

  1. Loved reading this chapter, Harshita. You have beautifully woven the fear and tension of going to a new country through Madhyri’s conflicts. I can sense some suspense, too. Waiting to read the next chapters.

    Like

  2. I am sure you have penned down a few of the emotions you felt when you left the country. Its not easy to let go. I was born and lived all my life in Vijayawada. 57 years to be precise. I moved to Hyderabad, three years ago, sold my house this year and now have made it my nest. The only constant in life is change. We have to accept it.

    Like

Leave a comment