BlogchatterA2Z(S) ~ Love On A Sunday Morning

The sun was about to set when Juhi and Madhuri reached home after their shopping trip. They were surprised to see Jaswinder’s father’s car parked in front. “Maybe Jaswinder has come home for pag-phera, and wanted to meet you,” Juhi murmured, referring to the ritual when the new bride returns to her parent’s home for the first time after marriage.

Madhuri shook her head. “No, it was done immediately after the wedding ceremony. She has already flown to the UK.”

Their confused eyes clashed with each other as they entered the inner courtyard. The sight of Jagjit and Jaswinder’s father sitting on the rope bed surprised them. Their father and mother sat on chairs across from them and on the table in the centre was a box of sweets. Everyone had huge smiles on their faces.

“What’s going on?” Juhi asked, bewildered.

Jasmeet hurriedly got up to hug her. “My darling! Jagjit has come with Jaswinder’s father, Mr. Bindra, to ask for your hand in marriage. Your father and I have accepted his proposal. Congratulations!”

“What?” Juhi almost shouted, pulling back. “You didn’t think to ask me first?”

Jasmeet drew back, her expression confused, “I thought you liked Jagjit. This is why we accepted it.”

“How do you know whether I like him? Did I say so?” Juhi demanded, turning her back on everyone as Madhuri’s arms came around her, anchoring her.

As the elders looked at each other, worried, Jagjit stood up. “Auntie, is it ok if I speak to Juhi alone?” he asked.

Jasmeet looked at him, unsure. Juhi was refusing to look at anyone. Her hands covered her face. Jasmeet was not sure Juhi would agree to talk to Jagjit alone. But this was her would-be son-in-law. Dare she risk his displeasure by refusing him?

“Please,” he insisted. “We will be on the terrace, in full view of everyone. But I do want to understand why Juhi is saying no.”

Unable to think of any excuse, Jasmeet nodded her acceptance.


I am participating in #BlogchatterA2Z, and this is the post for the alphabet S.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


If you liked my post, then maybe you would be interested in checking out my books. You can find them on my Amazon author page.


4 thoughts on “BlogchatterA2Z(S) ~ Love On A Sunday Morning

Leave a comment